The Cemais Route
In 2016 a new route was added to the Saints and Stones trails that lead pilgrims via the ancient paces of worship in north Pembrokeshire towards the shrine of St David in the Cathedral, Starting at St David’s old church, Manordeifi, the trail leads visitors to St Llawdog’s at Cilgerran and on to the Abbey of St Dogmael on the Teifi estuary. Initially a foundation of the 6th century, this was re-established as a Tironian house in 1115 under the patronage of Robert Fitzmartin.
From the Abbey, the pilgrimage follow ancient routes to Monnington, Moylegrove and Bayvil. These little churches have been lovingly restored by their communities in the 18th and 19th centuries. The trail then descends into Nevern, whose great church of St Brynach dominates not only the whole valley of the Nyfer but has played a huge role in the history and legend of the region over the last 1.600 years.
The last leg of this journey takes the pilgrim along the coast as far as the storm-battered ruins of St Brynach’s church at Cwm Yr Eglwys. A picturesque journey through rich coastal farmland and coastal views, this pilgrimage is well suited to both walkers and car drivers and much of the way is covered by the Poppit Rocket bus service.